The Things People in Rural America Should Really Be Concerned About

Cynthia Wylie
10 min readSep 21, 2022

And immigration is not on the list.

I hail from a Red county in a mostly Blue state; Butler County in Western Pennsylvania. During my growing up years, Butler County was mostly farmland settled by German immigrants.

Most of the people there are staunch conservatives, a vestige of a rural way of life. The ultra-conservative, former Senator, Rick Santorum is from Butler County, just to give you an idea.

My mom and all of my siblings, three brothers, and several of my nephews and nieces still live on our family farm. In addition to having full-time jobs, it is a working farm where they raise some beef cattle, board horses and grow crops. It is a beautiful place for sure and is truly a special way of life. I call it a commune, or something akin to the old television show Dallas, without all the bickering. We just repress our feelings. We’re farmers, after all.

I was the only one of my family who went to college, then graduate school, and then moved to a far away big city. My home away from home became Los Angeles, and I eventually switched my political party affiliation from Republican to Democrat. As a last affront, I became a vegan.

--

--

Cynthia Wylie

Founder of Bloomers Island. Published children’s book author at PRH. Writes about big kid’s stuff like economics & business, too. TheProjectConsultant.com.