The Hidden Impact of Personal Issues on Your Business

Cynthia Wylie
5 min readSep 23, 2023

Even if you want to pretend that you can compartmentalize them.

Photo by Raychel Sanner on Unsplash

I never had personal problems that impacted my business life.

Until I did.

I was going through a divorce with a two-year old and a five-year old. My then husband and I worked together. I sold my half of the company to him for peanuts so he would let me move out of state with our children. This needed to be arranged because I hated where we lived and what I was doing and I was so miserable that I couldn’t get out of bed in the morning. I was afraid that I might die. And there was more.

I had to arrange for half of our belongings to be moved across the country.

I had to find a new house to rent. I had to get a new job so I could afford said house. I had to enroll my daughter in day care and my son in kindergarten and find after-school care, because my new job didn’t end at noon.

I had to find a lawyer to help me with my custody case. And I had to lease a new car, because mine kept inconveniently breaking down.

New friends were in order. And not easy to find.

There was the need for a new pediatrician. A new doctor for me, too.

--

--

Cynthia Wylie

Founder of Bloomers Island. Published children’s book author at PRH. Writes about big kid’s stuff like economics & business, too. TheProjectConsultant.com.