If You Want to Raise Money to Start a Company, Start Here First.

Cynthia Wylie
3 min readFeb 15, 2024
Kicking around ideas in Venice, Italy.
Photo from Author

After my clothing company was sold, I didn’t know what to do next.

I had a lot of ideas, but couldn’t decide which one to pursue.

So I took a month off, did a house swap, and went to Italy with my four kids.

Sometimes you just have to get outta Dodge.

Have you ever desperately wanted to uncover your special passion for a business?

Or maybe you have many competing ideas but can’t decide which one to invest your time, money and opportunity cost in?

That’s a more common problem than people realize. So, rest easy, you’re not alone.

While in Italy, I kicked around several ideas and was close to figuring out what I wanted to do next, but life had different plans for me. Pesky life.

When I arrived back in Los Angeles, I went in for my yearly mammogram.

The results were “suspicious.” After ultrasounds and a couple of biopsies, the diagnosis was breast cancer. I had to get a double mastectomy.

The year that followed turned out to be a year of many painful surgeries and treatments.

I remember being grateful that I had the ability and wherewithal to focus on healing and not on working.

--

--

Cynthia Wylie

Founder of Bloomers Island. Published children’s book author at PRH. Writes about big kid’s stuff like economics & business, too. TheProjectConsultant.com.